Tuesday, October 19, 2021

‘Black Widow’ Director Cate Shortland Talks on What Marvel Fans Would Be Surprised to Learn About the Making of the Film

With Black Widow hitting theatres and Disney+ via Premiere Access this Friday, director Cate Shortland spoke about the making of the latest Marvel film in an interview. During the in-depth conversation, Shortland highlighted what Marvel fans might be surprised to learn about the creation of Black Widow, as well as why the PG-13 rating makes sense for the tale.

Cate Shortland is an Australian film and television writer and director who was born on August 10, 1968. Her most well-known films include Somersault, Lore, and Berlin Syndrome. Shortland is the director of multiple award-winning short films, including Strap on Olympia, Pentuphouse, Flower Girl, and Joy.

Also See: Best Trippy Movies That’ll Make You Feel Weird

She directed episodes of the Network Ten television series The Secret Life of Us for three years. Somersault, Shortland’s debut feature-length picture, premiered in the Un Certain Regard section of the 2004 Cannes Film Festival. She also directed The Silence, an Australian television film.

What else did she discuss in the interview?

She also discussed the differences between the first and final cuts of the film, her collaboration with second unit director Darrin Prescott (who has previously worked on Captain America: Civil War, Black Panther, Drive, Deadpool 2, and the John Wick films) on the film’s action sequences. She revealed how she balanced the seriousness with moments of levity and what she did in pre-production to help her teams understand what she was trying to achieve.

What is Black Widow all about?

Black Widow is a 2021 American superhero film based on the same-named Marvel Comics character. It is the 24th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. Cate Shortland directed the picture, which stars Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff / Black Widow alongside Florence Pugh, David Harbour, O-T Fagbenle, William Hurt, Ray Winstone, and Rachel Weisz. The film, which takes place after Captain America: Civil War, released in 2016, finds Romanoff on the run and forced to confront her past.

Also See: 15 Best Horror Movies Of All Time

Black Widow premiered on June 29, 2021, at various events around the world and is set to be released in the United States on July 9, 2021, in theatres and through Disney+ with Premier Access at the same time. It is the first film in the MCU’s Phase Four, and it has been delayed three times from its intended May 2020 release date owing to the COVID-19 pandemic. Critics gave the picture largely excellent reviews, praising the acting and action sequences.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here